The Glasshouse Mountains Golf Zone (GMGZ) was formally formed in 1974 with the aim to form a golfing zone to look after golf, open days, pennants, senior golf and junior golf in the Glasshouse Mountains area when this zone came under the control of the Wide Bay District Golf. The first president was Mr W. Broadfoot (Beerwah) and the Clubs that formed this Zone were:
Beerwah, Bribie Island, Caboolture, Caloundra, Kilcoy, Pine Rivers, Wantima & Woodford.


This was the first steps in breaking away from the Wide Bay Golf District with the Glasshouse Mountains Senior Golfing Association (GMSGA) forming their own committee in 1979 to run all senior golf in the Zone. The first president was Mr E. Willett (Beerwah). The current committee is President – G. Paul (Bribie Island), Vice President/Treasurer – Mr C. Haymon (Bribie Island), Secretary – Mr I. Good (Pine Rivers)


The District – Sunshine Coast, Glasshouse & South Burnett Golf District was formed in 1982 breaking away from the Wide Bay Golf District and three (3) golfing zone were united to run golf in different areas – Glasshouse Mountains Golf Zone (GMGZ), Sunshine Coast Golf Zone (SCGZ) and South Burnett Golf Zone (SBGZ). The first president of the District was Mr Don Cowie from Caloundra.


The longest serving president for the GMGZ is Mr John Martin (Caboolture) who served as president for 20 years.


There are 4 Life Members of the GMGZ – Mr Eddie Boudette (Pine Rivers), Mr Moss Thistlewaite (Pine Rivers), Mr John Martin (Caboolture) and Mr James Robertson (Wantima).


The GMGZ currently have 10 clubs under their umbrella as follows (Caloundra divorced to the SCGZ in 2003):
Beerwah, Bribie Island, Caboolture, Kilcoy, Maleny, Pacific Harbour, Pelican Waters, Pine Rivers, Wantima & Woodford.


In 2016, the golfing numbers in the GMGZ were 3,768 male golfers (3,606 Adults, 76 Juniors & 86 Juniors without Golf Australia handicaps)


In 2008 the GMGZ introduced their main event which is now called the Glasshouse Mountains Open Amateur Championships for the following categories – Open, Senior’s & Junior and is a Golf Queensland – AB/WK event.


The Glasshouse Mountains Junior Association was formed in 2015 with the current President being Mr Gary Ellis (Wantima), and Secretary – Ms Linda Urquhart  (Bribie Island)


The current President of the Zone (GMGZ) is – Mr Glenn Neighbour (Bribie Island), Secretary/Treasurer – Mr Peter Evans (Bribie Island)


This history was compiled by Terry Ward, Secretary of the District (SC&SBDGA) on the 26th October 2016.